Protocol Designer has two modes for editing steps: Single Edit mode (the standard view where you edit one step at a time) and Batch Edit mode. In Batch Edit mode you have the ability to make some modifications to multiple steps at a time.

How to enter Batch Edit mode

You can enter Batch Edit mode in one of two ways:

  1. If you hold SHIFT then click on a step, you will select all steps in between your selected step and the step you click on.

  2. If you hold CTRL/⌘CMD then click on a step, you will add only the step you clicked on to your selection.

How to exit Batch Edit mode

You can exit Batch Edit mode in one of two ways:

  1. Click the “Exit Batch Edit” blue button at the top right-hand corner of the banner that shows your number of selected steps.

  2. Clicking the “Select all” option under the Protocol Timeline header, and then clicking “De-select all”.

Managing Multiple Steps

Within Batch Edit mode you can also manage multiple steps in your Protocol Timeline. If you look under the “Protocol Timeline” header you should see a set of buttons. These buttons allow you to select all steps, de-select all steps, duplicate selected steps, as well as delete selected steps. At this time you cannot re-order multiple steps at a time.

Editing Transfers or Mixes

When you have selected only Transfers, or you have selected only Mixes, the form will show you which advanced settings can be overwritten for all of your selected steps. Which properties your selected steps have in common determines which advanced settings can be edited. These properties can include: pipette, source labware, destination labware, as well as path. You can find out why you cannot edit a disabled setting by hovering on it.

Indeterminate settings

Sometimes when a set of Transfers or Mixes has been selected you will see that some advanced settings are not checked, and are not un-checked, but are a third state. This state is “indeterminate”. This means that within the set of steps you have selected, some have this setting checked and some have it un-checked. If you click the indeterminate checkbox you will be turning this setting on for all selected steps. If you click the checkbox a second time you will be turning this setting off for all selected steps. To return to the indeterminate state you can click the “Discard changes” button on the bottom right of the form.

If you see an advanced settings text field with the contents “-” it is also indeterminate. This means that the Transfers or Mixes you have selected have different values in that field. If you see an advanced setting text field with a value that is not “-”, then you know that all selected steps have that value for this setting.

Did this answer your question?